Akarana Golf Club

The club's land has been further encroached upon with Transit New Zealand building the extension of State Highway 20 through what was the old second tee, the back of the first green and the practice fairway. What was supposed to be underway in 2002 finally got under way in 2006 - the club has been proactive with Transit and completed a fine course and clubhouse redevelopment in 2003.

Akarana now has two distinct nines. The shorter inner loop with a par of 34 has one of the great holes in Auckland golf, the par three 8th which measures 176 metres from the blue tee to a narrow green with bunkers on the left and water on the right.

The longer outer nine, which has out of bounds on the left of six holes, has the two longer par fives, two demanding par fours in the 13th and 15th, the testing par three 16th and an exciting short par 4 to finish which produces many birdies.

The full layout measures around 5800 metres from the back tees but the course rating is over par at 70.6 and the slope is 124.

Akarana has featured some of the great names in Auckland golf during its 78 years. One of the most famous was Jim Bissett, after whom the premier interclub competition trophy is named.

The most prolific club champion has been Vic Pirihi, whose 12 victories started in the 1970s and were very nearly added to as recently as 2001 when he lost the final. The Pirihi name remains one of Akarana's most famous. Vic is still a regular, still competitive and has been close to shooting his age in recent weeks. His son Mark has also been a club champion, Auckland's Champion of Champions and a provincial representative, while another son Carl is a member too.

Akarana now has the largest 'Business Women's' membership in Auckland, who together with busy Weekday and Nine Hole sections have all contributed to competitive success in the Auckland district. Noteable women who have represented Auckland in golf include; Polly King (12 times club champion), Rae Riggir, Alison Odlin, Anne Familton, and Marilyn Storey. Akarana is well represented in Auckland competitions - A & B Pennants, Business Women's Pennants, Betty Faesen, and Nine Hole.

One of our premier Auckland tournaments is the Pimms Cup played over 36 holes. The Auckland Anniversary tournament (played over 54 holes) and the Akarana Charles Tour (played over 72 holes) attract some of New Zealands top amateur and professional women.

Please mention that you found us on My Golf Guide.

+ Show more
1388 Dominion Road
Mt Roskill
Auckland 1041
Get directions